Press Notice 49, Session 2005-06

Department for International Development -
Departmental Report 2006

The International Development Committee is to conduct an inquiry into the Department for International Development's Departmental Report 2006 (CM No.6824) which was published on 9 May 2006.

The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence session has been scheduled on:

Tuesday 11 July, Committee Room 6, 2.30 pm

Sir Suma Chakrabarti KCB, - Permanent Secretary,
Mark Lowcock - Director General for Policy and International,
Nemat Shafik - Director General for Regional Programmes,
Sue Owen - Director General for Corporate Performance and Knowledge Sharing,

All from the Department for International Development (DFID)

This session is the Committee's yearly opportunity to question the Permanent Secretary and Directors across the range of the Department's activity. The Committee is likely to cover the following subjects among others:

€ The impact of increasing aid volumes on DFID policy

€ The organisation of the Department

€ Aid modalities.

€ The coherence of DFID's policies and practices with those of other Government departments

€ EU Development Cooperation

The Committee plans to produce a report in the autumn.

Detailed enquiries to Alistair Doherty, Clerk on 020 7219 1226 or


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Barrett MP (Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), Mr Jeremy Hunt MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh (Lab).

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0718 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: