Press Notice 41, Session 2005-06


Announcement of evidence session on
initial disaster response in the UK


Tuesday 6 June 2006, The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

At 10.30 am  Lyse Doucet, Presenter and Special Correspondent, BBC World television and World Service radio, Leonard Doyle, Foreign Editor, The Independent, and David Munk, Deputy Foreign Editor, The Guardian

At 11.15 am Jane Cocking, Deputy Director, Humanitarian Programmes, Oxfam, Marcus Oxley, Disaster Management Director, Tearfund and Toby Porter, Director of Emergencies, Save the Children

At 12 noon Brendan Gormley, Chief Executive, Disasters Emergency Committee (DEC)


In March 2006, the International Development Committee agreed to undertake an inquiry on the Humanitarian Responses to Natural Disasters. Natural disasters during 2005 focused public attention on the policies and practices of humanitarian assistance. The focus is specifically on natural disasters (both slow and rapid onset), although we recognize that there is not always a clear distinction between natural disasters and complex emergencies. 

This is the first of 7 evidence sessions scheduled for this inquiry.  The purpose of this evidence session is to consider the role of different actors, processes and priorities in determining the speed, nature and scale of the UK response to natural disasters.  The session will focus in particular on the respective roles of the media, NGOs and the Disasters Emergency Committee.


Detailed enquiries to Hannah Weston, Second Clerk on 020 7219 0851 or

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724 or

Committee website:


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Barrett MP (Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), Mr Jeremy Hunt MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh (Lab).