Press Notice 39, Session 2005-06

Department for International Development -

Departmental Report 2006

The International Development Committee is to conduct an inquiry into the Department for International Development's Departmental Report 2006 (CM No.6824) which was published on 9 May 2006.

The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence session has been scheduled:

Tuesday 11 July, 2,30pm,
Palace of Westminster or Portcullis House

Sir Suma Chakrabarti, Permanent Secretary, and the Directors-General, Department for International Development.

The Committee invites organisations and individuals with relevant experience and expertise to submit memoranda on issues relating to the 2006 Report.

The Committee is particularly interested in receiving comments which address the following issues:

€ The coherence of DFID's policies and practices with those of other Government departments - within DFID's partner countries as well as in the UK .

€ The impact of increasing aid volumes on DFID policy -- does DFID itself have the absorbtive capacity? Will higher aid volumes mean DFID disbursing more of its aid through the multilaterals?

€ The organisation of the Department -- Does DFID's structure reflect the volume and purpose of UK aid? How successful was DFID's 2003 organisational restructuring in fitting the Department to meet its aims?

€ Aid modalities -- The implications of DFID's withdrawal / reduction of direct budget support in Ethiopia and Uganda for the future of budget support.

€ EU Development Cooperation -- implications for DFID of the European Consensus on Development and the EU Africa Strategy


Evidence should be sent to the Clerk of the Committee by 12 June 2006 and should:

- if possible, be provided electronically in MS Word or Rich Text format, either by e-mail to or on a disk. If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail;

- the letterhead should contain your full postal address and contact details;

- any memorandum of more than six pages should begin with a one page summary;

- have numbered paragraphs;

- and avoid the use of colour or expensive-to-print material;

- further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at;

Material already published elsewhere should not form the basis of a submission, but may be referred to within a memorandum, in which case a hard copy of the published work should be included. Submissions can be sent via or, by post, to International Development Committee, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA. Please bear in mind that Committees are not able to investigate individual cases.

Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee. The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to make public the written evidence it receives, either by printing the written evidence alongside the oral evidence or by making the evidence available through the Parliamentary Record Office. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure; the Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence.

It would be helpful, for Data Protection purposes, if individuals wishing to submit written evidence send their contact details separately in a covering letter. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.


Detailed enquiries to Alistair Doherty, Clerk on 020 7219 1226 or


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Barrett MP (Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), Mr Jeremy Hunt MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh (Lab).

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0718 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: