Press Notice 23, Session 2005-06


Announcement of evidence session


Thursday 23 March 2006

Committee Room 6, Palace of Westminster

At 2.30 p.m.: Jim Drummond, Director, UN, Conflict and Humanitarian Division, DFID, Phil Evans, Head, Africa Conflict and Humanitarian Unit, DFID, Stephen Pattison, Director of International Security, FCO, Major General Andrew Stewart, Assistant Chief of Defence Staff (Policy), MoD and Matt Baugh, Acting Head, Post-Conflict Reconstruction Unit

POSTPONED - At 3.45 p.m.: Professor Paul Collier, Oxford University - this part of the evidence session has now been postponed.


On Thursday 1 December 2005 the International Development Committee announced an inquiry into Conflict and Development: peacebuilding and post-conflict redevelopment.  The main purpose of the inquiry will be to examine the effectiveness and external coherence of the UK’s peacebuilding and post-conflict reconstruction policies.

This is the second evidence session of the Conflict and Development inquiry, and will explore the Government approach to peacebuilding and post conflict reconstruction.


Detailed enquiries to Dr Anna Dickson, Committee Specialist on 020 7219 2738 or


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Barrett MP (Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), Mr Jeremy Hunt MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh (Lab).

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, 020 7219 0724 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845  7023474)