Press Notice 19, Session 2005-06


Announcement of evidence session


Tuesday 14 February 2006

Committee Room 8, Palace of Westminster

At 4.00pm:    Kurt Hoffman, Director, Shell Foundation

At approx 4.40pm:   Adrian Wood, Professor of International Development, Oxford University, and Sunil Sinha, Director, Emerging Market Economics

At approx 5.20pm  Joe Matome, Company Secretary, Debswana Diamond Company


In December 2005, the International Development Committee agreed to undertake an inquiry on Private Sector Development (PSD).  PSD touches on many aspects of what donors already do. The presumption behind the inquiry is not therefore that PSD is another sector for donors to engage in, but rather that PSD requires a changed perspective and practice in what donors (who may traditionally have little experience of business) are already doing. The inquiry will examine the coherence of DFID’s private sector development policy with DFID's work in other sectors.

This is the first evidence session of the PSD inquiry.


Detailed enquiries to Chlöe Challender, Committee Specialist on 020 7219 1522 or


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Barrett MP (Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), Mr Jeremy Hunt MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh (Lab).

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: