Press Notice 18, Session 2005-06

Conflict and Development

Announcement of evidence session


Wednesday 15 February 2006

Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

At 10.30am: Oli Brown, Project Manager, International Institute for Sustainable Development  (IISD) and Claire Hickson, Head of advocacy and communications, Saferworld


On Thursday 1 December 2005 the International Development Committee announced an inquiry into Conflict and Development: peacebuilding and post-conflict redevelopment.  The main purpose of the inquiry will be to examine the effectiveness and external coherence of the UK’s peacebuilding and post-conflict reconstruction policies.

This is the first evidence session of the inquiry, which will explore the link between donor policies and conflict.


Detailed enquiries to Dr Anna Dickson, Committee Specialist on 020 7219 2738 or


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Barrett MP (Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), Mr Jeremy Hunt MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh (Lab).

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)