Press Notice 7, Session 2005-06

Follow-up evidence session on Darfur

Date and venue



Tuesday 8 November (location to be confirmed but either Portcullis House or the Palace of Westminster)

2.30 pm

Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP, Secretary of State for International Development and officials; Lord Triesman, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office and Government Spokesperson for the Foreign and Commonwealth Office


3.45 pm (approx)

Dr Suliman Baldo, Africa Program Director, International Crisis Group; [other possible witnesses tbc]

In March 2005,  the International Development Committee published its  5th Report of Session 2004-05 HC 67-I - Darfur, Sudan: The responsibility to protect.   The Committee concluded that the international community was failing in its responsibility to protect the people of Darfur from the crimes committed against them, primarily by the Government of the Sudan and its allied militias, and made a series of concrete recommendations as to what the UK Government and the wider international community should do to improve its response. The Government published its response to the Committee’s report on 7 June 2005

The purpose of this session is to pursue the issues which were raised in the Committee’s report and to question Ministers and other witnesses on events which have happened since the report was published.


Detailed enquiries to Alistair Doherty, Clerk of the Committee on 020 7219 1226 or


Please note that starting times of evidence sessions may be subject to late changes. Those wishing to attend either of these sessions should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue the day before the hearing, or please have a look at the ‘Future meetings’ section of our website, nearer the day of the meeting.


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Malcolm Bruce MP (Chairman, Lib Dem), John Barrett MP (Lib Dem), John Battle MP (Lab), John Bercow MP (Con), Hugh Bayley MP (Lab), Richard Burden MP (Lab), Mr Quentin Davies MP (Con), Mr Jeremy Hunt MP (Con), Ann McKechin MP (Lab), Joan Ruddock MP (Lab), Mr Marsha Singh (Lab).

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845  7023474)