Press Notice 32, Session 2003-04


Future Evidence Sessions

The International Development Committee has agreed to undertake an inquiry - announced in Press Notice 21 (24 March 2004) - into DFID's Bilateral Programme of Assistance to India

The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence sessions have now been arranged. These are the first two oral evidence sessions to be held by the Committee as part of this inquiry:

Date and venue: Tuesday 15 June, Committee Room 6

Time: 2.30 p.m.

Witnesses: Academics: Dr Michael Lipton, CMG, Research Professor of Economics, Poverty Research Unit, University of Sussex, and Professor James Manor,  Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex

And at approx. 3.15 p.m.

Witnesses: Journalists: John Grimond and Christopher Lockwood, The Economist, and David Loyn, BBC


Date and venue: Monday 5 July, Palace of Westminster or Portcullis House (to be confirmed)

Time: 3.00 p.m.

Witnesses: Officials from the Department for International Development : Charlotte Seymour-Smith (Head, DFID India), Aruna Bagchee (Senior Governance Adviser, DFID India), and Jeremy Clarke (Chief, Asia Policy, Asia Directorate, DFID)

Please note that starting times may be subject to late changes. Those wishing to attend this evidence session should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue the day before the hearing, or please have a look at the 'Future meetings' section of our website, nearer the day of the meeting.


The inquiry is focused on the following key areas:

• The case for aid to India

• Partnerships/ social inclusion/ sector focus

• MDGs and PSAs

• Aid instruments/nature of engagement/governance and political will

• Economic development

The full terms of reference may be found in Press Notice 21:


Press notices issued by the International Development Committee may now be received by e-mail instead of by post.  If you wish to receive future press notices by e-mail, please send an e-mail to containing the words >press notice by e-mail= and including your postal details.  Your details will then be removed from our postal list and added to our e-mail distribution list.  If you no longer wish to receive press notices, please send either a fax or e-mail and we will remove you from our distribution list.


Further Information

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative), Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour), Mr Andrew Robathan (Conservative) and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Specific Committee Information: For the full terms of reference and for detailed enquiries, please contact Sarah Hartwell Naguib, Second Clerk, on 44 (0) 20 7219 0851 or

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 020 7 219 0724 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)