Press Notice 28, Session 2003-04


Kenya: DFID's Country Assistance Plan 2004-07 and Progress Towards the Millennium Development Goals

The International Development Committee will be publishing its Fourth Report of Session 2003-04, Kenya: DFID's Country Assistance Plan 2004-07 and Progress Towards the Millennium Development Goals, on Wednesday 12 May 2004 at 11.00 a.m., as HC 494.

This Report examines the challenges which Kenya faces in making progress towards the Millennium Development Goals, and the analysis and proposals contained in DFID's Country Assistance Plan.  This volume also includes oral evidence from Hilary Benn, MP, Secretary of State for International Development, Matthew Wyatt, Head, and Felicity Townsend, Senior Education Advisor, Department for International Development (Kenya) taken on March 24 2004, and written evidence submitted by 26 other organisations.

The Report will be available for collection by Government Departments and the press from the Reception Desk at 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA and from the Press Gallery from 11.00 a.m. on Wednesday 12 May 2004.

The Report may also be purchased from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, SW1A 2JX, Tel: 020 7219 3890) or from The Stationery Office (Parliamentary Hotline, Tel: 0845 702 3474). It will also be available on the Internet, from 3.30 p.m. on Wednesday 12 May 2004.

Further Information

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative); Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour), Mr Andrew Robathan (Conservative) and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Specific Committee Information: For detailed enquiries, please contact Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist, on 020 7 219 1522 or

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 020 7 219 0724 or

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Note to Editors

1. The International Development Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for International Development