Press Notice No 18, Session 2003 - 04


Migration and Development

The International Development Committee agreed to conduct an inquiry - announced in a press notice dated 3 July 2003 (PN37.2002/03) - on Migration and Development. The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence session have now been arranged:

Date and venue - Tuesday 23rd March, Palace of Westminster or Portcullis House (to be confirmed)

Time - 2.30 p.m.


Peter Bosch, Directorate General Justice and Home Affairs, European Commission
Anita Bundegaard of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
Heaven Crawley, formerly of IPPR.

Please note that starting times may be subject to late changes. Those wishing to attend these evidence sessions should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue the day before the hearing.

The inquiry is focussed on three key questions. These are:

• What is the nature of the relationship between migration and development (specifically, poverty reduction), and what determines the nature of this relationship?

• What can and should the UK and its partners in international development do to maximise the benefits and minimise the risks and costs of migration for poor people, developing and transition countries?

• How coherent is UK and EU migration policy with policy on other development-related matters and how might a more holistic and longer-term approach to migration be beneficial to the UK and its development partners?

In order to address these questions, the Committee’s inquiry will examine a range of issues including: aid, development strategies and migration management; remittances; labour markets; the return of skilled migrants; mobilising diasporas and transnational networks; and, migrants’ rights, asylum and refugee protection.


To date, the Committee has held six oral evidence sessions as part of this inquiry. The transcripts from these sessions can be found at the following website address:

The Committee has also received written evidence from numerous organisations. The written evidence can be viewed at:


Further Information

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative); Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour), Mr Andrew Robathan (Conservative) and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Specific Committee Information: For the full terms of reference and for detailed enquiries, please contact Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist, on 020 7 219 1522 or

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 020 7 219 0724 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7 219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)