Press Notice 26, Session 2003-04

Department for International Development: Departmental Report 2004

The International Development Committee is to conduct an inquiry into the Department for International Development's Departmental Report 2004 (CM No. 6214), which was published 29 April 2004.

The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence session has been scheduled:

Date: Tuesday 22 June

Venue: Committee Room 6

Time: 2.30 pm

Witnesses: Suma Chakrabarti, Permanent Secretary, Masood Ahmed, Director General - Policy and International, Mark Lowcock, Director General - Corporate Performance and Knowledge Sharing, and Dr Nicola Brewer CMG - Director General - Regional Programmes,  Department for International Development. 


The Committee invites organisations and individuals with relevant experience and expertise to submit memoranda on issues relating to the 2004 Report. 

Any memorandum of more than six pages should include a summary at the front. Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee and may be published.    Evidence should be sent to the Clerk of the Committee by 10 June 2003.  If possible, please supply an electronic version in MS Word or Rich Text Format, either by e-mail to or on a disk.  If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail.  Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at

Detailed enquiries to Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist, on 020 7 219 1522 or


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative), Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour), Mr Andrew Robathan (Conservative) and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Specific Committee Information: For the full terms of reference and for detailed enquiries, please contact Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist, on 020 7 219 1522 or

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 020 7 219 0724 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7 219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845  7023474)