Press Notice 1, Session 2004-05

DFID's bilateral programme of assistance to India

Further Evidence Session Arranged

The International Development Committee has agreed to undertake an inquiry - announced in Press Notice 21 (24 March 2004) - into DFID's bilateral programme of assistance to India. 

The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence session has now been arranged. This is the fourth oral evidence session to be held by the Committee as part of this inquiry:

Date and Venue



Tuesday 7 December, Palace of Westminster or Portcullis House - tbc

2.30 p.m.

The Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP, Secretary of State for International Development, and Dr Charlotte Seymour-Smith, Head, DFID India

Please note that starting times may be subject to late changes. Those wishing to attend this evidence session should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue the day before the hearing, or please have a look at the 'Future meetings' section of our website, nearer the day of the meeting.

The inquiry is focused on the following key areas:

• The case for aid to India

• Partnerships/social inclusion/sector focus

• MDGs and PSAs

• Aid instruments/nature of engagement/governance and political will

• Economic development

The full terms of reference may be found in Press Notice 21:

Further Information

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Mr John Bercow (Conservative), Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative), Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour), and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Specific Committee Information: For the full terms of reference and for detailed enquiries, please contact Hannah Weston, Second Clerk, on 44 (0) 207 219 0851 or

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 0207 219 0724 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: