Press Notice 4, Session 2003 - 04


Migration and Development

The International Development Committee agreed to conduct an inquiry - announced in a press notice dated 3 July 2003 (PN37.2002/03) - on Migration and Development. The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence sessions have now been arranged:

Date and venue - Tuesday 6 January, Committee Room 6, Palace of Westminster

Time - 2.30 p.m.

Witnesses - Professor Richard Black, Director, and Professor Ron Skeldon and Dr. Ben Rogaly, Members, University of Sussex Development Research Centre on Migration, Globalisation and Poverty, and Dr Priya Deshingkar, Overseas Development Institute.

Date and venue - Tuesday 13 January, Palace of Westminster

Time - 2.30 p.m.

Witnesses - Dr. Nicholas van Hear, Centre on Migration, Policy and Society (COMPAS), University of Oxford, Dr. Cecilia Tacoli, International Institute for Environment and Development, and Ms Catherine Barber, Oxfam.

Those wishing to attend these evidence sessions should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue the day before the hearing.

The inquiry is focussed on three key questions. These are:

• What is the nature of the relationship between migration and development (specifically, poverty reduction), and what determines the nature of this relationship?

• What can and should the UK and its partners in international development do to maximise the benefits and minimise the risks and costs of migration for poor people, developing and transition countries?

• How coherent is UK and EU migration policy with policy on other development-related matters and how might a more holistic and longer-term approach to migration be beneficial to the UK and its development partners?

In order to address these questions, the Committee’s inquiry will examine a range of issues including: aid, development strategies and migration management; remittances; labour markets; the return of skilled migrants; mobilising diasporas and transnational networks; and, migrants’ rights, asylum and refugee protection.


For the full terms of reference and further information please contact Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist, on 020 7219 1522 or


Reports and press notices issued by the International Development Committee are available on the Parliamentary website:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative, Banbury), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West), Mr John Battle (Labour, Leeds West), Hugh Bayley (Labour, City of York), Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley), Mr Tony Colman (Labour, Putney), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative, Grantham and Stamford); Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour, Ealing, Southall), Chris McCafferty (Labour, Calder Valley), Mr Andrew Robathan (Conservative, Blaby) and Tony Worthington (Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie).