Press Notice 1, Session 2003 - 04

Visit to Kenya, Ethiopia, Tanzania and Madagascar

The International Development Committee plans to visit Kenya, Ethiopia, Tanzania and Madagascar in January 2004 to examine the role of the Department for International Development (DFID) and the multilateral agencies and non-governmental organisations to which it contributes in those countries.  The Committee will also gather information in connection with its inquiry into Migration and Development.                           

Any memoranda relating to developmental priorities and the work of donors in Kenya, Ethiopia, Tanzania and Madagascar should reach the Clerk of the Committee by Tuesday 6 January  2004.

Any memorandum of more than six pages should include a summary at the front. Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee and may be published.   If possible, please supply an electronic version in MS Word or Rich Text Format, either by e-mail to or on a disk.  If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail.  Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at



Detailed enquiries to Alistair Doherty, Clerk of the Committee, on: 020 7219 1226, or


Reports and press notices issued by the International Development Committee are available on the Parliamentary website:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative, Banbury), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West), Mr John Battle (Labour, Leeds West), Hugh Bayley (Labour, City of York), Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley), Mr Tony Colman (Labour, Putney), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative, Grantham and Stamford); Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour, Ealing, Southall), Chris McCafferty (Labour, Calder Valley), Mr Robert Walter (Conservative, North Dorset) and Tony Worthington (Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie).