Press Notice 50, Session 2002 - 03


Migration and Development

The International Development Committee agreed to conduct an inquiry - announced in a press notice dated 3 July 2003 (PN37.2002/03) - on Migration and Development. The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence session has now been arranged:

Date and venue - Tuesday 2 December, Palace of Westminster

Time - 2.30 p.m.

Witnesses -  Mr Masood Ahmed, Director General for Policy and International, and Ms Sharon White, Director, Policy Division, Department for International Development

Those wishing to attend this evidence session should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue the day before the hearing.

The inquiry is focussed on three key questions. These are:

What is the nature of the relationship between migration and development (specifically, poverty reduction), and what determines the nature of this relationship?

What can and should the UK and its partners in international development do to maximise the benefits and minimise the risks and costs of migration for poor people, developing and transition countries?

 How coherent is UK and EU migration policy with policy on other development-related matters and how might a more holistic and longer-term approach to migration be beneficial to the UK and its development partners?

In order to address these questions, the Committee’s inquiry will examine a range of issues including: aid, development strategies and migration management; remittances; labour markets; the return of skilled migrants; mobilising diasporas and transnational networks; and, migrants’ rights, asylum and refugee protection.


For the full terms of reference and further information please contact Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist, on 020 7219 1522 or


Reports and press notices issued by the International Development Committee are available on the Parliamentary website:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative, Banbury), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West), Mr John Battle (Labour, Leeds West), Hugh Bayley (Labour, City of York), Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley), Mr Tony Colman (Labour, Putney), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative, Grantham and Stamford); Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour, Ealing, Southall), Chris McCafferty (Labour, Calder Valley), Mr Robert Walter (Conservative, North Dorset) and Tony Worthington (Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie).