Press Notice 41 Revised, Session 2002-03

Evidence session on the Autumn meetings of the IMF and the World Bank

At 3.30 p.m. on Thursday 6 November there will be an evidence session with The Rt Hon Gordon Brown MP, Chancellor of the Exchequer and The Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP, Secretary of State for International Development, on the Autumn Meetings of the IMF and the World Bank. The session will examine the policies and practices of the World Bank and IMF, and UK input into these institutions, with particular attention paid to: Poverty Reduction Strategies; the Heavily Indebted Poor Countries debt relief initiative; developing country voice and participation in the governance of the World Bank and IMF; the application of World Bank safeguard policies relating to environmental standards and human rights; and the resources needed for developing countries to meet the Millennium Development Goals. Please note the revised start time of this session.

The Inter-Governmental Conference and Development Issues

At the end of the above session, the Committee intends to put a number of questions to  the Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP on issues relating to development and the IGC.

The venue for this session will be The Wilson Room, Portcullis House.

The Committee intends to publish the oral and written evidence in due course, but will not be producing a report.


The evidence sessions will take place in the Palace of Westminster. Those wishing to attend should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue the day before the hearing.

Detailed enquiries to Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist, on 020 7219 1522.


Reports and press notices issued by the International Development Committee are available on the Parliamentary website:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative, Banbury), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West), Mr John Battle (Labour, Leeds West), Hugh Bayley (Labour, City of York), Alistair Burt (Conservative, North East Bedfordshire), Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley), Mr Tony Colman (Labour, Putney), Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour, Ealing, Southall), Chris McCafferty (Labour, Calder Valley), Mr Robert Walter (Conservative, North Dorset) and  Tony Worthington (Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie).