Revised Press Notice 42

Session 2002-03

10 October 2003


Trade and Development at the WTO: After Cancún

Trade and Development at the WTO: After Cancún

The International Development Committee published its Report [HC 400-I] on "Trade and Development at the WTO: Issues for Cancún" on 14 July 2003. The Committee received the Government’s Response to its Report on 7 September 2003. This was published as HC 1093. The WTO held its 5th Ministerial meeting in Cancún from 10-14 September. The Committee intends to produce a report about the outcomes and implications of the WTO’s Cancún Ministerial.

The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence session has now been arranged:

Date and venue -Thursday 16 October, The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

Time - 3.15  p.m.

Witnesses - The Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP, Secretary of State for International Development, and Ms Dianna Melrose, Head, International Trade Department, DFID, and the Rt Hon Patricia Hewitt MP, Secretary of State for Trade and Industry, and Dr Elaine Drage, Director, Trade and Development, DTI

Detailed enquiries to Dr Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist, on: 020 7219 1522


Reports and press notices issued by the International Development Committee are available on the Parliamentary website:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative, Banbury), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West), Mr John Battle (Labour, Leeds West), Hugh Bayley (Labour, City of York), Alistair Burt (Conservative, North East Bedfordshire), Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley), Mr Tony Colman (Labour, Putney), Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour, Ealing, Southall), Chris McCafferty (Labour, Calder Valley), Mr Robert Walter (Conservative, North Dorset) and  Tony Worthington (Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie).