Press Notice 35 Revised

Session 2002/03

16th June 2003




The International Development Committee has agreed to hold two evidence sessions on the subject of Iraq. The first evidence session took place on Tuesday 10 June, and is available on:

The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence session has also now been arranged (please note revised details) :

Date and venue - Monday 30 June, Palace of Westminster

Time - 2.45 p.m.

Witnesses - Ann Clwyd MP, Special Envoy to the Prime Minister on Human Rights Issues in Iraq, and Member of the International Development Committee

Time - 3.15pm

Witnesses - The Rt Hon Baroness Amos, Secretary of State for International Development

The Committee will be particularly considering the following issues:

  • The adequacy of humanitarian planning and response during the course of the conflict and since the end of the conflict;

  • delivery of humanitarian relief including military/civilian cooperation, security issues, availability of humanitarian supplies, food distribution and the re-instatement of the Oil-for-Food programme ;

  • the state of the health sector including staffing and availability of medical supplies;

  • the state of civilian infrastructure, especially water and electricity supplies;

  • availability of resources;

  • reconstruction needs.

The Committee will not be producing a report but will publish the transcript of the sessions along with some of the written submissions.

Detailed enquiries to Sarah Hartwell, Second Clerk, on 020 7219 0851 or


Reports and press notices issued by the International Development Committee are available on the Parliamentary website:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative, Banbury), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West), Mr John Battle (Labour, Leeds West), Hugh Bayley (Labour, City of York), Alistair Burt (Conservative, North East Bedfordshire), Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley), Mr Tony Colman (Labour, Putney), Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour, Ealing, Southall), Chris McCafferty (Labour, Calder Valley), Mr Robert Walter (Conservative, North Dorset) and  Tony Worthington (Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie).