Press Notice 31

Session 2002/03

13th May 2003


Department for International Development -

Departmental Report 2003

The International Development Committee is to conduct an inquiry into the Department for International Development's Departmental Report 2003 (CM5914).

The Committee will hear evidence in public from Mr Suma Chakrabarti, Permanent Secretary, Department for International Development on 17 June 2003 at 2.30 pm at the House of Commons.

Evidence session

Date and venue - Tuesday 17 June, Palace of Westminster

Time - 2.30 pm

Witness - Mr Suma Chakrabarti, Permanent Secretary, Department for International Development. 

The Committee invites organisations and individuals with relevant experience and expertise to submit memoranda relating to the 2003 Report.  The Committee is particularly interested in receiving views on:

  • Progress against the Public Service Agreements

  • Use of Direct Budget Support

  • DFID policy on Sexual and Reproductive Health

  • DFID Policy on Poverty Reduction Strategies

Any memorandum of more than six pages should include a summary at the front. Once submitted, evidence is the property of the Committee and may be published.    Evidence should be sent to the Clerk of the Committee ideally by 10 June 2003.  If possible, please supply an electronic version in MS Word or Rich Text Format, either by e-mail to or on a disk.  If submitted by e-mail or e-mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e-mail.  Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at

Detailed enquiries to Sarah Hartwell, Second Clerk, on 020 7219 0851 or

Reports and press notices issued by the International Development Committee are available on the Parliamentary website: _committees/international_development.cfm

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative, Banbury), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West), John Battle (Labour, Leeds West), Hugh Bayley (Labour, City of York), Alistair Burt (Conservative, North East Bedfordshire), Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley), Tony Colman (Labour, Putney), Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour, Ealing, Southall), Chris McCafferty (Labour, Calder Valley), Mr Robert Walter (Conservative, North Dorset) and  Mr Tony Worthington (Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie).

Press notices issued by the International Development Committee may now be received by e-mail instead of by post.  If you wish to receive future press notices by e-mail, please send an e-mail to containing the words 'press notice by e-mail' and including your postal details.  Your details will then be removed from our postal list and added to our e-mail distribution list.