Publication of evidence - The Autumn meetings of the IMF and the World Bank

On Tuesday 5 November 2002 the International Development Committee took oral  evidence from the Rt Hon Clare Short MP, Secretary of State for International Development, Mr Tony Faint CBE, Director-International, DFID and Ms Penny McMillin, Policy Analyst, International Financial Institutions Department, DFID, on the Autumn meetings of the IMF and the World Bank (PN31.2001/02).  The session focussed on the outcomes of the Autumn Meetings, and on the role of the UK Government.

The Minutes of Evidence and the Appendices from this session will be published in a single volume on Monday 13 January at midday, as HC (2001-02) 1297-i and HC (2002-03) 256

The Minutes of Evidence and Appendices will be available for collection by Government Departments, witnesses and the press from the Reception Desk at 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA and from the Press Gallery from midday on Monday 13 January

The Minutes of Evidence and Appendices may also be purchased from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, SW1A 2JX, Tel 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (Parliamentary Hotline, Tel 0845 7023 474). It will also be available on the Internet: from 3.30 p.m. on Monday 13 January.

Enquiries to Katie Phelan, Committee Assistant, on 020 7219 1221

Note to Editors

1.The International Development Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for International Development.

2.Reports and press notices issued by the International Development Committee are available on the Committee's home page on the Parliamentary website: see

3.The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative, Banbury), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West), John Battle (Labour, Leeds West), Hugh Bayley (Labour, City of York), Alistair Burt, (Conservative, North East Bedfordshire), Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley), Tony Colman (Labour, Putney), Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour, Ealing, Southall), Chris McCafferty (Labour, Calder Valley), Mr Robert Walter (Conservative, North Dorset) and  Mr Tony Worthington (Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie).