EVIDENCE SESSIONS:  Afghanistan: the transition from humanitarian relief to reconstruction and development assistance

The International Development Committee agreed to conduct an inquiry (announced in a press notice dated 23 July 2002 (PN30.2001/02)) on the situation in Afghanistan.  The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence sessions have now been arranged:

Date and venue Time Witnesses

Tuesday 19 November, 11.00 am, Committee Room 15

Mr Chris Austin, Head, Western Asia Department, Department for International Development, and Ms Jan Thompson, Head of Afghanistan Unit, and Mr Tom Phillips, UK Special Representative for Afghanistan, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Monday 25 November, 3.00 pm, Palace of Westminster

Dr Mukesh Kapila, United Nations Assistance Mission in Afghanistan, (UNAMA)

[Judith Lewis, Regional Director for Southern Africa, World Food Programme (WFP) will be giving evidence on the Committee's inquiry into the humanitarian crisis in southern Africa]

Tuesday 26 November, 10.30 am, Palace of Westminster

CARE International; Islamic Relief; Development Initiatives; and British Agencies Afghanistan Group (BAAG)

Tuesday 10 December, Palace of Westminster, 10.30 am

Rt. Hon. Clare Short MP, Secretary of State, Department for International Development and DFID officials

Those wishing to attend the evidence session should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue and time the day before the hearing. Detailed enquiries to Sarah Hartwell, Assistant Clerk, on: 020 7219 0851

Reports and press notices issued by the International Development Committee are available on the Parliamentary website:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative, Banbury), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West), Mr John Battle (Labour, Leeds West), Hugh Bayley (Labour, City of York), Ann Clwyd (Labour, Cynon Valley), Mr Tony Colman (Labour, Putney), Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour, Ealing, Southall), Chris McCafferty (Labour, Calder Valley), Mr Andrew Robathan (Conservative, Blaby), Mr Robert Walter (Conservative, North Dorset) and  Tony Worthington (Labour, Clydebank and Milngavie).

Press notices issued by the International Development Committee may now be received by e-mail instead of by post.  If you wish to receive future press notices by e-mail, please send an e-mail to containing the words 'press notice by e-mail' and including your postal details.  Your details will then be removed from our postal list and added to our e-mail distribution list.  If you no longer wish to receive press notices, please send either a fax or e-mail and we will remove you from our distribution list.