Press Notice 47a, Session 2003-04


Date and venue



Monday 29 November
Palace of Westminster or Portcullis House (tbc)

2.30 p.m.

Dr Suliman Baldo, Africa Program Director of the International Crisis Group

Further to an earlier press notice (no. 47), the International Development Select Committee is to hear evidence as part of its inquiry into the ongoing crisis in Darfur from Dr Suliman Baldo, Africa Program Director of the International Crisis Group (ICG) - an independent, non-profit, multinational organisation, that works to prevent and resolve deadly conflict. See for further information.

As Africa Program Director, Dr Baldo develops and directs all of ICG's activities across the continent.  Together with three project directors, he guides the research, analysis, policy prescriptions and advocacy activities in relation to the Africa region, and he acts as a point of contact for the media on all African issues.

He has experience in the fields of human rights monitoring, conflict analysis, and international advocacy.  Since 2002, he has worked as an independent expert, providing advice on conflict situations in Central and Eastern Africa. From 1995 to 2002, he was with Human Rights Watch as Senior Researcher for the DR Congo and the Horn of Africa. His experience also includes community-based development and management of humanitarian/emergency assistance.

This will be the first oral evidence session to be held by the Committee as part of its inquiry: Darfur, Sudan: Crisis, Response and Lessons - see press notice 41.

Please note that starting time may be subject to late changes. Those wishing to attend the session should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue the day before the hearing, or please have a look at the ‘Future meetings’ section of our website, nearer the day of the meeting.


Detailed enquiries to Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist:


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Mr John Bercow (Conservative), Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative); Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour), and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 020 7219 0724 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)