The Quadripartite Committee


Wednesday 15 December 2004 in Committee Room 15, (room subject to change)

The ‘Quadripartite Committee’ will take evidence from:

At 9.45 am: UK Working Groups on Arms

Mr Rob Parker - Campaign Manager, Arms and Security, Amnesty International UK Section

Mr Oliver Sprague - Oxfam GB

Mr Andy McLean - Deputy Director, Saferworld

At approximately 10.45 am: Defence Manufacturers’ Export Licensing Group

Mr Michael Bell - Export Controls Consultant, BAE Systems

Mr Brinley Salzmann - Exports Director, Defence Manufacturers’ Association

Mr David Hayes - Export Controls Compliance Manager, Rolls-Royce plc                                                                                           

Mr Tim Otter - Vice President, Business Development, Smiths Detection


1. The ‘Quadripartite Committee’ consists of four Committees that meet together to consider controls on strategic exports, including weapons: the Defence, Foreign Affairs, International Development and Trade and Industry Committees. The Chairman for these meetings is Roger Berry MP, a Member of the Trade and Industry Committee. Details of the membership of the four Committees can be found on the parliamentary website at

2. News Release: Quadripartite Committee - No. 1; International Development Committee No. 3


Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07711 155 722, email -

Specific Committee Information: Sheryl Dinsdale, Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills, research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on