Press Notice 49, Session 2003-04

Department for International Development: Departmental Report 2004

Publication of Report

The International Development Committee will be publishing its Eighth Report of Session 2003-04, Department for International Development: Departmental Report 2004, on Thursday 25 November 2004 at 00.01, as HC 749.

The purpose of the Committee’s report is to make DFID more accountable to Parliament and other stakeholders, and to encourage DFID to reflect on how it manages and spends the increasing UK aid budget, so as to help DFID to make a more effective contribution to meeting the Millennium Development Goals.

The report highlights several areas where DFID could improve its performance and - to enhance transparency, accountability, and effectiveness - its reporting of its performance. The report also comments on DFID’s role as an agency focused on poverty reduction, and on the diversion of aid to Iraq, at the expense of countries in Latin America.

Embargoed copies of the Report will be available for collection by witnesses, Government Departments and the press from the Reception Desk at 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA and from the Press Gallery from 11.00 a.m. on Wednesday 24 November.

The Report may also be purchased from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, SW1A 2JX, Tel: 020 7219 3890) or from The Stationery Office (Parliamentary Hotline, Tel: 0845 702 3474). It will also be available on the internet, from 4.00 p.m. on Thursday 25 November, at:

Enquiries to Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist on Tel: 0207 219 1522 or Katie Phelan, Committee Assistant, on Tel: 020 7219 1221

Note to Editors

The International Development Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for International Development.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Mr John Bercow (Labour) Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative), Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour) and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 0207 219 0724 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: