Press Notice 44 (revised), Session 2003-04

Evidence session on the annual Autumn meetings of the IMF and the World Bank

Each Autumn, the Boards of Governors of the World Bank Group and International Monetary Fund (IMF) hold their Annual Meetings to discuss a range of issues related to poverty reduction, international economic development and finance.

The Committee has arranged an evidence session relating to the IMF and World Bank, focussing on issues discussed at the Autumn meetings. In particular, the Committee intends to explore issues including debt relief and debt sustainability, the governance of the international financial institutions and the voices of developing countries, conditionality, parliamentary scrutiny of the international financial institutions, and the UK Government's new World Bank Institutional Strategy. The Committee does not intend to produce a report, but will publish the transcript of the evidence session alongside relevant written submissions.

The Committee is pleased to confirm that witnesses will be as follows:

Date and venue



Tuesday 9 November

Room 6, Palace of Westminster

2.30 p.m.

Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP, Secretary of State for International Development,  Mr Peter Grant, Director International Division, Department for International Development, and Mr Stephen Pickford CB, Director, International Finance, HM Treasury


At approximately 3.15 p.m.

Mr Jeff Powell, Coordinator, Bretton Woods Project  and Mr Patrick Watt, Senior Policy Adviser, ActionAid

Detailed enquiries to Dr Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist, on 020 7219 1522 or


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative); Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour), Mr Andrew Robathan (Conservative) and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Specific Committee Information: For detailed enquiries, please contact Alan Hudson, Committee Specialist, on 020 7219 1522 or

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 020 7219 0724 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474)