Press Notice 19, Session 2004-05

Responses to the Asian tsunami disaster
Development Assistance in Iraq

Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP, Secretary of State for International Development to appear before Committee

Date and venue



Thursday 10 March  2005, venue tbc (Palace of Westminster or Portcullis House)

4.00 p.m.

Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP, Secretary of State for International Development

Responses to the Asian tsunami disaster (4.00 p.m. to 4.45 p.m.): This session provides an opportunity for the Committee to question the Secretary of State for International Development about Responses to the Asian tsunami disaster.  This is the second evidence session on this subject, which does not form part of any broader inquiry. This was originally scheduled to take place on Wednesday 23 February, but was postponed and rescheduled for Thursday 10 March.

Two months after the Asian tsunami, the full scale of the disaster has become clear, as have the challenges facing those working in the region.   Governments, NGOs and international donors are now making the transition from initial acute relief work to longer term recovery and reconstruction interventions.  The Committee intends to raise questions about the nature and effectiveness of the international community’s humanitarian response to the disaster, including the response of the UK Government.

Development Assistance in Iraq (4.45 p.m. to 5.30 p.m.): The second part of the session will be the  final oral evidence session to be held by the Committee as part of its inquiry into Development Assistance in Iraq. This inquiry was announced in Press Notice 37 (21 July 2004.)    The Committee have recently returned from a visit to Iraq. The emphasis of the inquiry is on the role of DFID and its development partners (both NGO and multilateral) in development, reconstruction and meeting humanitarian needs.


Please note that starting times may be subject to late changes. Those wishing to attend either of these sessions should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue the day before the hearing, or please have a look at the ‘Future meetings’ section of our website, nearer the day of the meeting.


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Mr John Bercow (Conservative), Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative); Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour), and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 020 7219 0724 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845  7023474)