Press Notice 17, Session 2004-05

Publication of Report: Work of the Committee in 2004

The Committee will be publishing its Report on Work of the Committee in 2004 on Monday 21 February 2005 at 11.00 a.m. as the Second Report of the Committee, Session 2004-05 [HC 326].

The International Development Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for International Development and its associated public bodies.  As in previous years, our activities over the past year have sought to follow the objectives contained in DFID's Public Service Agreement.

2004 saw the Committee conclude a number of major inquiries; this led to the publication of the following reports:

• Trade and Development at the WTO: Learning the lessons of Cancún to revive a genuine development round

• Development Assistance and the Occupied Palestinian Territories

• Kenya: DFID’s Country Assistance Plan 2004-07 and progress towards the Millennium Development Goals

• Migration and Development: How to make migration work for poverty reduction

• DFID’s Agriculture Policy

• DFID: Departmental Report 2004

• The Commission for Africa and Policy Coherence for Development: First do no harm

The Committee also began major inquiries into:

• Development Assistance in Iraq

• Darfur, Sudan: Crisis, Response and Lessons

• DFID’s bilateral programme of assistance to India

• The European Union’s trade agreements with African, Caribbean and Pacific countries

As part of its work on the above issues, the Committee also undertook visits to Kenya, Ethiopia, Somaliland and India, and attended a number of international development-focused conferences.


Copies of the Report will be available for collection by witnesses, Government Departments and the press from the Reception Desk at 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA and from the Press Gallery from 11.00 a.m. on Monday 21 February.

If you would like to arrange collection of a report from 7 Millbank please e-mail or call 020 7219 1223.

If you would like to arrange interviews with the Chairman or Committee Members please contact the Media Officer, Adele Brown on 020 7219 0724


Copies of this Report can be ordered from The Stationery Office (Tel: 0845 702 3474) or from the Parliamentary Bookshop (Tel: 020 7219 3890) or it will also be available on the internet, from 3.30 p.m, on Monday 21 February, at:


Further inquiries should be directed to the Committee Specialist (Alan Hudson on 020 7219 1522 or or to the Media Officer (Adele Brown, 020 7219 0724 or


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Mr John Bercow (Conservative), Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative); Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour), and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 020 7219 0724 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845  7023474)