Press Notice 13, Session 2004-05

Evidence Session with the European Commissioner for Development and Humanitarian Aid

The Future of EU Development Policy

The International Development Committee will hold an evidence session on 24 February 2005 to explore the future of EU development policy. The Committee will also take the opportunity to further its ongoing inquiry on the EU’s trade agreements with the African, Caribbean and Pacific countries. The Committee is pleased to announce that the following session has been arranged:

Date and venue



Thursday 24 February, Attlee Suite, Portcullis House

9.30 a.m.

Mr Louis Michel, European Commissioner for Development and Humanitarian Aid.

The evidence session will address the following key questions:

1. The future of EU Development policy. The Commission has proposed to review development policy in 2005. How will the new policy differ from that set out in the Council and Commission declaration of November 2000?

2. The role of DG Development in the negotiations for Economic Partnership Agreements (EPAs). What are the developmental implications of the EPAs?

3. Funding development assistance: how do the proposed financial perspectives for 2007-2013 measure up to the objectives of development policy? What is the future of the European Development Fund (EDF)?

4. Enlargement of the EU: the impact of enlargement and advancing integration on development policy.

Detailed enquiries to Dr. Anna Dickson, Committee Specialist, on or 020 7219 2738.


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Mr John Bercow (Conservative), Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative); Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour), and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 020 7219 0724 or

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845  7023474)