Human Tissue: Press Notice 3

Press Notice
No. 3 of Session 2006-07, 26 July 2007

Embargo: For immediate release

Further information: Francene Graham 0207 219 8387


The Joint Committee on the Draft Human Tissue and Embryos Bill will publish its report on Wednesday 1 August at 00.01 am (HL Paper 169-I , HC 630-I, Session 2006-07).


Advance copies of the report for witnesses to this inquiry will be available under strict embargo for collection between 11.30 am - 1.30 pm on Tuesday 31 July from the reception, 2 Millbank, London, SW1A OPW. These must be requested in advance by e-mail sent to

The report can also be ordered from The Stationery Office (tel. 0845 702 3890/3474), or can be viewed on the Committee's website from 4.00 pm on the day of publication:

Oral and written evidence will be published separately as Volume II of the Report (HL Paper 167-II, HC 630-II). Copies will be distributed to those who contributed to the inquiry.

Notes to Editors

1 Information about the Committee
The two Houses of Parliament established a Joint Committee on the Draft Human Tissue and Embryos Bill, which was published by the Government on 17 May 2007 (Cm 7087). The text of the draft Bill can be found at:

The remit of the Committee was to consider the draft Bill, and report on it to both Houses by the 25 July 2007. The Government is obliged to respond to the Committee's recommendations within two months.

Membership of the Committee:

Baroness Deech (Cross Bench)
Baroness Hollis of Heigham (Labour)
Lord Jenkin of Roding (Conservative)
Lord Mackay of Clashfern (Conservative)
Baroness Neuberger (Liberal Democrats)
The Lord Bishop of St Albans (Other)
Lord Selsdon (Conservative)
Lord Turnberg (Labour)
Lord Winston (Labour)

Mr David Burrowes MP (Enfield Southgate, Conservative)
Ms Katy Clark MP (North Ayrshire and Arran, Labour)
Dr Ian Gibson MP (Norwich North, Labour)
Robert Key MP (Salisbury, Conservative)
Chris Mole MP (Ipswich, Labour)
Dr Doug Naysmith MP (Bristol North West, Labour Co-op)
Geraldine Smith MP (Morecambe and Lunesdale, Labour)
Ms Dari Taylor MP (Stockton South, Labour)
Mr Phil Willis MP (Chairman) (Harrogate and Knaresborough, Liberal Democrats)

To follow the inquiry, see: