Formal Minutes

Tuesday 9 October 2007

Members present:

Keith Vaz, in the Chair
Mr Jeremy Browne
Ms Karen Buck
Mr James Clappison
Mrs Ann Cryer
Mrs Janet Dean
Patrick Mercer
Gwyn Prosser
Bob Russell
Martin Salter
Mr Gary Streeter
Mr David Winnick

Future Programme

The Committee considered this matter.

Visit to the United States

The Committee considered this matter.

The Government's Counter-terrorism proposals

The Committee considered this matter.

Sir Ian Blair, QPM, Commissioner of Police of the Metropolis, and Peter Clarke CVO OBE QPM, Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Head of Counter Terrorist Command and National Co-ordinator of Terrorist Investigations; and Lord Carlile of Berriew QC, the Government's independent reviewer of anti-terrorism legislation, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Thursday 11 October at Ten o'clock.