Election of Chairman

New Chairman of the Home Affairs Committee appointed

At its meeting today, Thursday 26 July 2007, the Home Affairs Committee chose the Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP to be its Chairman.

Keith Vaz has been Member of Parliament for Leicester East since June 1987. Opposition Front Bench Spokesperson for the Environment 1992-97; PPS: to John Morris as Attorney General 1997-99, to Solicitors General Lord Falconer of Thoroton 1997-98, Ross Cranston 1998-99; Parliamentary Secretary, Lord Chancellor's Department 1999; Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office (Minister for Europe) 1999-2001; a member of the Home Affairs Select Committee 1987-92, and Constitutional Affairs Select Committee 2003-2007.

The motion that Mr Vaz take the Chair of the Committee was proposed by Mr Martin Salter MP and agreed unanimously.

Mr Vaz declared his interests, as required by the Resolution of the House of 13 July 1992. In addition to the interests declared in the current Register of Members' Interests, Mr Vaz declared that he was a non-practising barrister, and that his wife was a solicitor and part-time judge.

The previous Chairman of the Committee was the Rt Hon John Denham MP, who withdrew from participation in the Committee after accepting ministerial office on 28 June.