Home Affairs Committee Press Notice

Session 2005-06 / PN No. 41


Oral evidence sessions

The following evidence sessions have been arranged as part of the above inquiry:

Date and Time: Tuesday 6 June 2006 at 10.15 a.m.
Inquiry: Immigration Control
Witnesses: Lin Homer, Director General, Immigration and Nationality Directorate (IND), and Phil Wheatley, Director General, Prison Service
Location (tbc): Committee Room 15, Palace of Westminster, London SW1

Date and Time: Monday 12 June 2006 at 4.45 p.m.
Inquiry: Immigration Control
Witnesses: Sir John Gieve KCB, former Permanent Secretary, Home Office, and Stephen Boys Smith, former Director General of IND
Location (tbc): Committee Room 16, Palace of Westminster, London SW1

Date and Time: Tuesday 13 June 2006 at 3.15 p.m.
Inquiry: Immigration Control
Witnesses: Liam Byrne MP, Minister of State for Immigration, Citizenship and Nationality, Home Office, and Lord Triesman of Tottenham, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office
Location (tbc): Committee Room 15, Palace of Westminster, London SW1

The sessions will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms are subject to change: those interested in attending the session should check the Committee Information Line on 020 7219 2033 a few days before the meeting.

Details of this inquiry were set out in a press notice issued on 9 November 2005

Media Enquiries:
Jessica Bridges Palmer, Tel 020 7219 0724, email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk
Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 3276, email: homeaffcom@parliament.uk
Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/homeaffairscom
Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv
Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk

NOTE FOR EDITORS: The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005. Its terms of reference are to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Home Office and its associated public bodies; and the administration and expenditure of the Attorney General's Office, the Treasury Solicitor's Department, the Crown Prosecution Service and the Serious Fraud Office (but excluding individual cases and appointments and advice given within government by Law Officers). The Members are:
Rt Hon John Denham (Chairman) (Lab) (Southampton Itchen)
Mr Richard Benyon (Con) (Newbury)
Mr Jeremy Browne (Lib Dem) (Taunton)
Colin Burgon (Lab) (Elmet)
Mr James Clappison (Con) (Hertsmere)
Mrs Ann Cryer (Lab) (Keighley)
Mrs Janet Dean (Lab) (Burton)
Mr Shahid Malik (Lab) (Dewsbury)
Steve McCabe (Lab) (Birmingham Hall Green)
Gwyn Prosser (Lab) (Dover)
Bob Russell (Lib Dem) (Colchester)
Mr Richard Spring (Con) (West Suffolk)
Mr Gary Streeter (Con) (South West Devon)
Mr David Winnick (Lab) (Walsall North)