Home Affairs Committee Press Notices

Home Affairs and Work and Pensions Sub-Committees on the Draft Corporate Manslaughter Bill

Session 2005-06 / PN No. 4

House of Commons 7 Millbank London SW1P 3JA
General Enquiries: 020 7219 2839
Media Enquiries: Luke Robinson 020 7219 8894
Fax: 020 7219 0580    
E-mail: homeaffcom@parliament.uk

Joint Sub-Committees announce future evidence sessions

The Sub-Committees of the Home Affairs Committee and the Work and Pensions Committee, established to scrutinise the draft Corporate Manslaughter Bill, will be holding evidence sessions on Monday 7 and Thursday 10 November, details as follows:

Draft Corporate Manslaughter Bill

Monday 7 November in Committee Room 8, Palace of Westminster
4.45 pm Adrian Lyons, The Railway Forum
Aidan Nelson, The Rail Safety and Standards Board

5.30 pm Stephen Ratcliffe, and Andy Sneddon, Construction Confederation 
Keith Batchelor, and Jeff Smith, The Royal Academy of Engineering

6.15 pm Geraint Day, and Patricia Peter, Institute of Directors
Peter Schofield, and Louise Ward, EEF, the Manufacturers’ Organisation

Thursday 10 November in Committee Room 8, Palace of Westminster
9.45  am Eileen Dallaglio, and John Perks, Marchioness Contact Group

10.30 am Alan Ritchie, Union of Construction, Allied Trades and Technicians (UCATT)

11.15 am Janet Asherson, and Michael Roberts, CBI

The session will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms are subject to change: those interested in attending the session should check the Committee Information Line on 020 7219 2033 a few days before the meeting.

Notes for Editors:

The membership of the Sub-Committees is as follows:

Home Affairs Committee
Mr John Denham (Chairman) Labour, Southampton, Itchen
Mr Richard Benyon Conservative, Newbury
Mr Jeremy Browne Liberal Democrat, Taunton
Colin Burgon Labour, Elmet
Mr James Clappison Conservative, Hertsmere
Mrs Ann Cryer Labour, Keighley
Mrs Janet Dean Labour, Burton
Nick Harvey Liberal Democrat, North Devon
Nick Herbert Conservative, Arundel & South Downs
Steve McCabe Labour, Birmingham, Hall Green
Mr Shahid Malik Labour, Dewsbury
Gwyn Prosser Labour, Dover
Mr Gary Streeter Conservative, South West Devon
Mr David Winnick Labour, Walsall North

Work and Pensions Committee
Mr Terry Rooney (Chairman) Labour, Bradford North
Miss Anne Begg Labour, Aberdeen South
Harry Cohen Labour, Leyton and Wanstead
Mr Philip Dunne Conservative, Ludlow
Mrs Natascha Engel Labour, North East Derbyshire
Michael Jabez Foster Labour, Hastings and Rye
Justine Greening Conservative, Putney
Mrs Joan Humble Labour, Blackpool North and Fleetwood
Greg Mulholland Liberal Democrat, Leeds North West
John Penrose Conservative, Weston-Super-Mare
Jenny Willott Liberal Democrat, Cardiff Central

A dedicated telephone line provides recorded information about forthcoming meetings including venues, subjects under discussion and contact numbers for further information. The recording, which is updated daily, covers select and standing committee meetings occurring within the next two sitting days. The number to dial is 020 7219 2033.  The general inquiry lines for committee activity remain 020 7219 3267/4300.

DATA PROTECTION INFORMATION The information you provide on this form is seen only by staff of the Clerk’s Department.  It is needed so that staff can keep you informed about the Committee’s work and related issues. If any of the details you have provided in this form change, or you have any concerns about the handling of this information, please contact the Clerk, Work and Pensions Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA.

Our press notices are distributed by e-mail.  For further information about press notices, please contact:
Francene Graham Phone:  020 7219 8387  
E-mail:  homeaffcom@parliament.uk