Formal minutes

Thursday 7 December 2006

[The Committee met concurrently with the European Scrutiny Committee]

Members present:

Mr Richard Benyon
Ms Karen Buck
Mr James Clappison
Mrs Ann Cryer
Mrs Janet Dean
Mr John Denham
Gwyn Prosser
Bob Russell
Martin Salter
Mr David Winnick

The following members of the European Scrutiny Committee were also present, in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order No. 137A (Select committees: power to work with other committees):

Mr David S. Borrow
Ms Katy Clark
Mr Michael Connarty
Mr Wayne David
Jim Dobbin
Nia Griffith
Mr David Heathcoat-Amory
Mr Jimmy Hood
Mr Anthony Steen

Mr John Denham was called to the chair.

Migration issues relating to the accession of Bulgaria and Romania to the EU

Liam Byrne MP, Minister of State for Nationality, Citizenship and Immigration, Christophe Prince, Director, European Policy Directorate, Immigration and Nationality Directorate, and Helen Earner, Head of the Employment Task Force, Immigration and Nationality Directorate, Home Office, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Tuesday 12 December at Ten o'clock.