Formal Minutes

Tuesday 17 January 2006

Members present:
Mr John Denham, in the Chair
Colin Burgon
Mr James Clappison
Mrs Janet Dean
Nick Harvey
Steve McCabe
Mr Shahid Malik
Gwyn Prosser
Mr Gary Streeter
Mr David Winnick

Austrian Presidency Conference
Ordered, That the Chairman and the Clerk visit Vienna in April to attend the Austrian Conference of Home Affairs Committee Chairmen in a representative capacity.

The Committee's future programme
The Committee considered this matter.

Immigration Control Inquiry
Keith Best, Chief Executive, and Colin Yeo, Head of Higher Appeals, Research & Information Department, Immigration Advisory Service, and Chris Randall, Chair, and Matthew Davies, Executive Committee Member, Immigration Law Practitioners' Association, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Tuesday 24 January at Ten o'clock.