Formal Minutes

Tuesday 8 November 2005

Members present:
Mr John Denham, in the Chair
Mr Richard Benyon
Mr Jeremy Browne
Mr James Clappison
Mrs Ann Cryer
Mrs Janet Dean
Nick Herbert
Steve McCabe
Mr Shahid Malik
Gwyn Prosser
Mr Gary Streeter
Mr David Winnick

Resolved, That the Committee inquire into the UK-US Extradition treaty.

EU Presidency Conference
The Committee considered this matter.

Immigration control
Resolved, That the Committee inquire into the policy and practice of immigration control.

Prison suicides and overcrowding
Frances Crook, Director, and Pauline Campbell, Trustee, the Howard League for Penal Reform, Deborah Coles, Co-director, INQUEST, and Juliet Lyon, Director, and Geoff Dobson, Deputy Director, the Prison Reform Trust; and the Rt Hon Baroness Scotland of Asthal QC, a member of the House of Lords, Minister of State for Criminal Justice and Offender Management, Home Office, Christine Knott, Acting Head of the National Offender Management Service, Phil Wheatley, Director General, Prison Service, and John Boyington, Department of Health, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Tuesday 29 November at Three o'clock.