HAC - 051019 - 1

Home Affairs and Works and Pensions Sub-Committees Press Notice

Session 2005-06, dated 19 October 2005

Joint Sub-Committees announce future evidence session

The draft Corporate Manslaughter Bill Sub-Committee of the Home Affairs Committee and the draft Corporate Manslaughter Bill Sub-Committee of the Work and Pensions Committee will be holding their first evidence session on Monday 24 October, details as follows:

Draft Corporate Manslaughter Bill

Monday 24 October in Committee Room 8, Palace of Westminster

4.45 pm:
Pamela Dix and Sophie Tarrasenko, Disaster Action
Anne Jones, Simon Jones Memorial Campaign

5.30 pm:
Hugh Robertson, Trades Union Congress
Mike Griffiths, Amicus
Barry Camfield, Transport and General Workers' Union

6.15 pm:
David Bergman and Steve Tombs, Centre for Corporate Accountability

Notes for Editors:

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Home Affairs:

Mr John Denham (Chairman)(Labour, Southampton, Itchen)
Mr Richard Benyon (Conservative, Newbury)
Mr Jeremy Browne (Liberal Democrat, Taunton)
Colin Burgon (Labour, Elmet)
Mr James Clappison (Conservative, Hertsmere)
Mrs Ann Cryer (Labour, Keighley)
Mrs Janet Dean (Labour, Burton)
Nick Harvey (Liberal Democrat, North Devon)
Nick Herbert (Conservative, Arundel & South Downs)
Steve McCabe (Labour, Birminghem, Hall Green)
Mr Shahid Malik (Labour, Dewsbury)
Gwyn Prosser (Labour, Dover)
Mr Gary Streeter (Conservative, South West Devon)
Mr David Winnick (Labour, Walsall North)

Work and Pensions:

Mr Terry Rooney, (Chairman) (Labour, Bradford North)
Miss Anne Begg (Labour, Aberdeen South)
Harry Cohen (Labour, Leyton and Wanstead)
Mr Philip Dunne (Conservative, Ludlow)
Mrs Natascha Engel (Labour, North East Derbyshire)
Michael Jabez Foster (Labour, Hastings and Rye)
Justine Greening (Conservative, Putney)
Mrs Joan Humble (Labour, Blackpool North and Fleetwood)
Greg Mulholland (Liberal Democrat, Leeds North West)
John Penrose (Conservative, Weston-Super-Mare)
Jenny Willott (Liberal Democrat, Cardiff Central)


A dedicated telephone line provides recorded information about forthcoming meetings including venues, subjects under discussion and contact numbers for further information. The recording, which is updated daily, covers select and standing committee meetings occurring within the next two sitting days. The number to dial is 020 7219 2033.  The general inquiry lines for committee activity remain 020 7219 3267/4300. 


The information you provide on this form is seen only by staff of the Clerk's Department.  It is needed so that staff can keep you informed about the Committee's work and related issues. If any of the details you have provided in this form change, or you have any concerns about the handling of this information, please contact the Clerk, Work and Pensions Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA.

Our press notices are distributed by e-mail.  For further information about press notices, please contact:

Francene Graham
Phone:  020 7219 8387
E-mail:  homeaffcom@parliament.uk