Health Committee Press Notice No 22

17 May 2007
Session 2006-07

Electronic Patient Record

The Health Committee would like to announce the witnesses to the next evidence sessions of its inquiry into The Electronic Patient Record.
Thursday 7 June
Wilson Room, Portcullis House

at 10.00 am

Professor Simon Wessely, Academy of Medical Sciences
Mark Walport, Director, The Wellcome Trust
Professor Carol Dezateux, Centre for Paediatric Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Institute of Child Health

At approx 11.15 am

Patrick O'Connell, Managing Director, BT Health
Alan Shackman, Independent Consultant

Thursday 14 June
Wilson Room, Portcullis House

At 10.00 am

Professor John Feehally, President, The Renal Association
Dr Gill Markham, Vice President, The Royal College of Radiologists
Frank Burns, former CEO, Wirral Hospital Trust

At approx 11.15 am

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath, Minister of State for Quality,
Richard Granger, Director General of IT for the NHS,
Harry Cayton, National Director for Patients and the Public, Department of Health

The uncorrected transcript of each evidence session is placed on the Health Committee website as soon as possible after the meeting - .

Dates and times of all public House of Commons Select Committee meetings can be found at

Members of the public and representatives of the press will be admitted to these meetings. Meetings may be held either in the Palace of Westminster or Portcullis House, and there are often last minute changes. Those wishing to attend are advised to check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information office on 020 7219 4272 the day before the meeting.

The Health Committee is a Select Committee of the House of Commons. It is appointed under Standing Order No.152 to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department of Health and associated public bodies. The Committee has the power to send for persons, papers and records.

Please note that the Health Committee is unable to investigate individual cases.