Health Committee

30 November 2004        No 1, Session 2204-05


I nquiry into The Prevention of Venous Thromboembolism in Hospitalised Patients

The Health Committee has arranged the following meeting, to be held in public:

Thursday 9 December 2004 in the Wilson Room, Portcullis House, 10:30 am.

Oral evidence from:

(At 10:30 am)

Mrs Linda de Cossart, Consultant Vascular and General Surgeon, Royal College of Surgeons of England

Mr David Warwick, Consultant Hand and Orthopaedic Surgeon, Southampton University NHS Trust

Professor Ajay Kakkar, Professor of Surgical Science and Consultant Surgeon, Barts and the London Medical School

Dr David Keeling, Consultant Haematologist, Oxford Haemophilia Centre and Thrombosis Unit

Dr Beverley Hunt, Medical Director, Lifeblood


(At 11:45 approx.)

Dr David Harper, Director of Health Protection, International Health and Scientific Development, Department of Health

Professor Sir Michael Rawlins, Chair, National Institute of Clinical Excellence

Professor David Barnett , Chair of Appraisals Committee, National Institute of Clinical Excellence


Members of the public and representatives of the press will be admitted to these meetings. Because there are often last minute changes of rooms and meetings may be held either in the Palace of Westminster or Portcullis House, those wishing to attend should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information office on 020 7219 4272 the day before the meeting.

The Health Committee is a Select Committee of the House of Commons.  It is appointed under Standing Order No.  152 to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department of Health and associated public bodies. The Committee has power to send for persons, papers and records.