Health Committee

Thursday 3 March 2005

Members present: Mr David Hinchliffe (Chairman), Mr David Amess, John Austin, Mr Simon Burns, Jim Dowd, Dr Doug Naysmith and Dr Richard Taylor

The Committee deliberated.

The Use of Medical Technologies Within the NHS: Professor Carl May, Centre for Health Services, University of Newcastle upon Tyne; Mr Baljit Dheansa, Queen Victoria Hospital NHS Foundation Trust; Mr John Wilkinson, Association of British Healthcare Industries; Professor Sir James Underwood, President, Royal College of Pathologists; Mr Tony Rice, Tunstall Group Ltd; Dr Felicity Harvey, Professor Tom Walley and Professor Ian Philp, Department of Health; and Sir Christopher O'Donnell, Co-Chairman of the Healthcare Industries Task Force, were examined.

[Adjourned till Tuesday 8 March 2005 at half past Nine o'clock.