Health Committee

Thursday 27 January 2005

Members present: Mr David Hinchliffe (Chairman), Mr Keith Bradley, Mr Simon Burns, Dr Doug Naysmith and Dr Richard Taylor

The Committee deliberated.

Draft Report (The Work of the Committee in 2004), proposed by the Chairman, brought up and read.

Ordered, That the Chairman's draft Report be read a second time, paragraph by paragraph.

Paragraphs 1 to 43 read and agreed to.

Resolved, That the Report be the First Report of the Committee to the House.

Ordered, That the Chairman do make the Report to the House.

New Developments in HIV/AIDS and Sexual Health Policy: Professor George Kinghorn, Consultant in Genito-urinary Medicine and Clinical Director for Communicable Diseases, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, Ms Anne Weyman, Chief Executive, Family Planning Association and Dr William Ford-Young, general practitioner, Broken Cross Surgery, Macclesfield, were examined.

Ms Lisa Power, Head of Policy, Terrence Higgins Trust, Dr Max Sesay, Chief Executive Officer, African HIV Policy Network and Ms Deborah Jack, Chief Executive, National AIDS Trust were examined.

Dr David Asboe, Consultant in Genito-urinary Medicine, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, Dr Barry Evans, Health Protection Agency, Ms Pam Ward, Co-Chair, Overseas Visitors Action Support Group and Mr Peter Nieuwets, Chair, English HIV and Sexual Health Commissioning Group, were examined.

[Adjourned till Thursday 3 February 2005 at Ten o'clock.