Foreign Affairs Committee: Press Notices

13 November 2006

The Foreign Affairs Committee is holding two evidence sessions on its inquiry into South Asia on Monday 20 November and Wednesday 22 November. The Committee's inquiry, announced on 21 July 2006, is considering India's role in South Asia and the international system, including relations between Pakistan and the question of Kashmir, and will seek to assess British policy in this context.

Monday 20 November

The first evidence session will consider the changing role and reach of India in regional and international institutions and affairs. The meeting will be at 4.30pm in Committee Room 16. The witnesses are as follows:

Rahul Roy-Chaudhury, Research Fellow for South Asia, International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS);

Dr Gareth Price, Head, Asia Programme, Chatham House; and

Dr Chris Smith, Associate Fellow, International Security Programme, Chatham House.

Wednesday 22 November 2006

The second evidence session will be split into two. The first part will consider India's economic development and trade and investment opportunities for the UK. The second part will examine relations between India and Pakistan and the question of Kashmir. The meeting will be at 2.30pm in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House. The witnesses are as follows:

At 2.30pm:

Lord Meghnad Desai, Professor of Economics and Director, Centre for the Study of Global

Economic, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) and

Martin Wolf, Associate Editor and Chief Economics Editor, Financial Times

At approximately 3.30pm:

Victoria Schofield, author, Kashmir in the Crossfire

Professor Sumantra Bose, Professor of International and Comparative Politics, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)

Note to Editors:

The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the "administration, expenditure and policy" of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee's website at

Membership of the Committee:

Mike Gapes (Ilford South) Lab, Chairman
Mr Fabian Hamilton (Leeds North East) Lab
Rt Hon Mr David Heathcoat-Amory (Wells) Con
Mr John Horam (Orpington) Con
Mr Eric Illsley (Barnsley Central) Lab
Mr Paul Keetch (Hereford) Lib Dem
Andrew Mackinlay (Thurrock) Lab
Mr John Maples (Stratford-on-Avon) Con
Sandra Osborne (Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock) Lab
Mr Greg Pope (Hyndburn) Lab
Mr Ken Purchase (Wolverhampton North East) Lab
Rt Hon Sir John Stanley (Tonbridge and Malling) Con
Ms Gisela Stuart (Birmingham Edgbaston) Lab
Richard Younger-Ross (Teignbridge) Lib Dem

Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via St Stephen's Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

Committee Rooms are subject to change. Those interested in attending Committee meetings are advised to check the House of Commons Committee Information Line, which provides recorded information about forthcoming meetings including venues, subjects under discussion and contact numbers for further information. The recording, which is updated daily, covers select and standing committee meetings occurring within the next two sitting days. The number to dial is 020 7219 2033. The general inquiry lines for committee activity remain 020 7219 3267/4300.