Foreign Affairs Committee: Press Notice

2 March 2009


Oral Evidence Session

Wednesday 11 March 2009

The Foreign Affairs Committee will hear evidence from Baroness Catherine Ashton, European Trade Commissioner, on Wednesday 11 March at 2.30pm, as part of its ongoing inquiry into Developments in the EU. The evidence session is likely to feature questioning on EU institutional matters and on current international and EU trade policy issues, in particular in relation to the global economic climate and EU foreign policy goals.

Wednesday 11 March 2009

At 2.30pm

Baroness Catherine Ashton, European Trade Commissioner

The meeting will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House (please note that rooms are subject to change).

Media enquiries:

Members of the press with enquiries should contact Alex Paterson, Select Committee Media Officer, on 020 7219 1589, or 07917 488488, or by email to

Further Information:

1. The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the "expenditure, administration and policy" of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee's website at

2. Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via St Stephen's Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 15 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Mike Gapes (Chairman), Labour, Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell, Liberal Democrats, Mr Fabian Hamilton, Labour, Rt Hon David Heathcoat-Amory, Conservative, Mr John Horam, Conservative, Mr Eric Illsley, Labour, Mr Paul Keetch, Liberal Democrats, Andrew Mackinlay, Labour, Mr Malcolm Moss, Conservative, Sandra Osborne, Labour, Mr Greg Pope, Labour, Mr Ken Purchase, Labour, Rt Hon Sir John Stanley, Conservative, Ms Gisela Stuart, Labour.

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6394; email

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589 or 07917 488 488; email

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills, research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on