Foreign Affairs Committee: Press Notice

12 February 2009



Wednesday 4 March 2009

The Foreign Affairs Committee conducted an inquiry and published a Report on "Global Security: The Middle East" in 2007.* In the light of recent developments in the region, the Committee has decided to take follow-up evidence on this subject.

The Committee heard from academics and analysts on Wednesday 11 February 2009. The Committee will hold its second evidence session on Wednesday 4 March at 2.30pm. The session is likely to cover British Government policy in respect of Israel and the Occupied Palestinian Territories, the recent conflict in Gaza, and the Middle East peace process, in the light in particular of the Gaza conflict, the Israeli general election on 10 February and the change of Administration in the United States.

Wednesday 4 March

At 2.30 pm

Bill Rammell MP, Minister of State, and officials, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

The meeting will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House ( room subject to change).

* HC (Session 2006-07) 363

Media enquiries:

Members of the press with enquiries should contact Alex Paterson, Select Committee Media Officer, on 020 7219 1589, or 07917 488488, or by email to

Further Information:

1. The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the "expenditure, administration and policy" of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated public bodies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee's website at

2. Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via Cromwell Green Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Mike Gapes (Chairman), Labour, Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell, Liberal Democrats, Mr Fabian Hamilton, Labour, Rt Hon David Heathcoat-Amory, Conservative, Mr John Horam, Conservative, Mr Eric Illsley, Labour, Mr Paul Keetch, Liberal Democrats, Andrew Mackinlay, Labour, Mr Malcolm Moss, Conservative, Sandra Osborne, Labour, Mr Greg Pope, Labour, Mr Ken Purchase, Labour, Rt Hon Sir John Stanley, Conservative, Ms Gisela Stuart, Labour

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6394, email -

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488 488 email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8 am daily) and much more, can be found on