Foreign Affairs Committee: Press Notice

11 February 2009



Wednesday 25 February 2009

The Committee will hold its first evidence session in its inquiry into Global Security: Afghanistan on Wednesday 25 February at 2.30 pm.

As part of its overall inquiry into Global Security, the Committee will examine the current security situation in Afghanistan and related areas in Pakistan, as well as the key strategic issues relating to Afghanistan from a British perspective.

Wednesday 25 February 2009

At 2.30pm

Colonel (retired) Christopher Langton, Senior Fellow for Conflict, the International Institute for Strategic Studies

Theo Farrell, Professor of War, Dept of War Studies, King's College, London

At 3.30pm

Dr Shaun Gregory, Pakistan Security Research Unit, University of Bradford

Sean Langan, British journalist and documentary film-maker

The meeting will take place in Committee Room 8, Palace of Westminster ( room subject to change).

Media enquiries:

Members of the press with enquiries should contact Alex Paterson, Select Committee Media Officer, on 020 7219 1589, or 07917 488488, or by email to

Further Information:

1. The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the "expenditure, administration and policy" of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated public bodies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee's website at

2. Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via Cromwell Green Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Mike Gapes (Chairman), Labour, Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell, Liberal Democrats, Mr Fabian Hamilton, Labour, Rt Hon David Heathcoat-Amory, Conservative, Mr John Horam, Conservative, Mr Eric Illsley, Labour, Mr Paul Keetch, Liberal Democrats, Andrew Mackinlay, Labour, Mr Malcolm Moss, Conservative, Sandra Osborne, Labour, Mr Greg Pope, Labour, Mr Ken Purchase, Labour, Rt Hon Sir John Stanley, Conservative, Ms Gisela Stuart, Labour

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6394, email -

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488 488 email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8 am daily) and much more, can be found on