Foreign Affairs Committee

20 October 2005

Evidence Sessions during week commencing 24 October

War against Terrorism

5.00 pm, Monday 24 October 2005, Grimond Room, Portcullis House

The Committee will be taking evidence from:

  • Rt Hon Jack Straw, Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs,

  • David Richmond CMG, Director-General, Defence and Intelligence, and

  • Dr Peter Gooderham, Director, Middle East and North Africa, Foreign & Commonwealth Office.

FCO Annual Report, 2004-05

2.30pm, Wednesday 26 October 2005, Wilson Room, Portcullis House

The following witnesses from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office will appear before the Committee:

  • Sir Michael Jay KCMG, Permanent Under-Secretary;

  • Richard Stagg CMG, Director-General (Corporate);

  • David Warren, Director (Human Resources);

  • Ric Todd, Director (Finance).

Note to Editors:

The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the administration, expenditure and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies.

Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via St Stephen's Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

Committee Rooms are subject to change. Those interested in attending Committee meetings are advised to check the House of Commons Committee Information Line, which provides recorded information about forthcoming meetings including venues, subjects under discussion and contact numbers for further information. The recording, which is updated daily, covers select and standing committee meetings occurring within the next two sitting days. The number to dial is 020 7219 2033. The general inquiry lines for committee activity remain 020 7219 3267/4300.

Members of the press with enquiries should contact Jessica Bridges-Palmer, Select Committee Media Officer, on 020 7219 0724.