Foreign Affairs Committee: Press Notice

10 March 2008



The Foreign Affairs Committee will hold its first evidence session for its inquiry into Global Security: Japan and Korea on Wednesday 19 March.

As part of its overall inquiry into Global Security, the Committee is considering the foreign policy aspects of the United Kingdom's relationship with Japan, the Republic of Korea (South Korea) and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea). (Please see Press Release 16 (07-08), dated 6 February, for the terms of reference.) In this evidence session the Committee will hear from the following:

Wednesday 19 March 2008

2.30 pm Dr John Swenson-Wright, Lecturer in Japanese Politics and International Relations, East Asia Institute, University of Cambridge and Associate Fellow, Chatham House

3.30 pm Mr Aidan Foster-Carter, Honorary Senior Research Fellow in Sociology and Modern Korea, University of Leeds, and freelance writer and consultant on Korean affairs

Professor Hazel Smith, Professor of International Relations, University of Warwick

The meeting will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House.

Media enquiries:

Members of the press with enquiries should contact Alex Paterson, Select Committee Media Officer, on 020 7219 1589, or 07917 488488, or by email to

Further Information:

1. The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the "administration, expenditure and policy" of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee's website at

2. Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via St Stephen's Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Mike Gapes (Chairman), Labour, Rt Hon Sir Menzies Campbell, Liberal Democrats, Mr Fabian Hamilton, Labour, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory, Conservative, Mr John Horam, Conservative, Mr Eric Illsley, Labour, Mr Paul Keetch, Liberal Democrats, Andrew Mackinlay, Labour, Mr Malcolm Moss, Conservative, Sandra Osborne, Labour, Mr Greg Pope, Labour, Mr Ken Purchase, Labour, Rt Hon Sir John Stanley, Conservative, Ms Gisela Stuart, Labour

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6394, email -

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488 488 email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on