Foreign Affairs Committee: Press Notice

26 March 2007


The Foreign Affairs Committee will examine the foreign policy aspects of the United Kingdom's relations with the Islamic Republic of Iran, with particular reference to Iran's nuclear programme. Issues addressed will include:

€ the extent of the progress Iran has made on nuclear development;

€ the relationship between Iran's domestic political and human rights situation, and its nuclear ambitions;

€ the relationship between Iran's regional and international security situation and its nuclear ambitions;

€ the regional and global security implications of Iran's nuclear programme;

€ the history of international engagement with Iran over nuclear non-proliferation, in particular the role of the United Kingdom, the European Union, the United States, Russia and the United Nations; and

€ the options open to the international community in addressing the possibility of Iran obtaining nuclear weapons, and the implications of these options for regional and global security, nuclear proliferation and energy security.

Iran's role in the wider Middle East is being considered in the Committee's inquiry 'Global Security: the Middle East'.

The Committee welcomes written memoranda on any of these issues. Interested parties should submit either in hard copy to the above address or, preferably, by e-mail to by Wednesday 16 May 2007, indicating clearly their name and address. Questions on the submission of evidence should be directed to the Committee Specialist on 020 7219 3613.


Further Information:

1.The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the "administration, expenditure and policy" of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee's website at

2. Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via St Stephen's Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Mike Gapes (Chairman), Labour, Mr Fabian Hamilton, Labour, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory, Conservative, Mr John Horam, Conservative, Mr Eric Illsley, Labour, Mr Paul Keetch, Liberal Democrats, Andrew Mackinlay, Labour, Mr Malcolm Moss, Conservative, Sandra Osborne, Labour, Mr Greg Pope, Labour, Mr Ken Purchase, Labour, Rt Hon Sir John Stanley, Conservative, Ms Gisela Stuart, Labour, Richard Younger-Ross, Liberal Democrats.


Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6394, email -

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on