Foreign Affairs Committee

12 February 2007



The situation in the Middle East is the subject of the first phase of a new Inquiry by the Foreign Affairs Committee into Global Security. The Global Security Inquiry replaces the Committee's former Inquiry into "Foreign Policy Aspects of the War Against Terrorism".

This initial phase of the Global Security Inquiry investigates the situation in the wider Middle East, including Israel, the Palestinian Territories, Egypt, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, Iraq and Iran, the UK's foreign policy relationship with the region, and the Government's engagement with the Islamic world. On 28 February, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office's Director for the Middle East and North Africa, Peter Gooderham, and the Director, Iraq, Simon Macdonald, will give evidence, with the Minister for the Middle East, Dr Kim Howells appearing on 14 March. Other witnesses will also give evidence on 28 February and on 7 March; details will be announced shortly. All 3 meetings will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House, at 2.30pm.

Interested groups or individuals are encouraged to submit written evidence to the inquiry by sending it in electronic format to, or in hard copy to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA.

Other phases of the "Global Security" Inquiry will be announced later in the year.


Further Information:

1.The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the "administration, expenditure and policy" of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee's website at

2. Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via St Stephen's Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Mike Gapes (Chairman), Labour, Mr Fabian Hamilton, Labour, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory, Conservative, Mr John Horam, Conservative, Mr Eric Illsley, Labour, Mr Paul Keetch, Liberal Democrats, Andrew Mackinlay, Labour, Mr Malcolm Moss, Conservative, Sandra Osborne, Labour, Mr Greg Pope, Labour, Mr Ken Purchase, Labour, Rt Hon Sir John Stanley, Conservative, Ms Gisela Stuart, Labour, Richard Younger-Ross, Liberal Democrats


Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6394, email -

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on