Foreign Affairs Committee: Press Notice





Oral Evidence Session: Monday 3 December 2007

The Foreign Affairs Committee will hold its first evidence session for its inquiry into the Overseas Territories on Monday 3 December.  The Committee is considering the exercise by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) of its responsibilities in relation to the Overseas Territories and the FCO’s achievements against its Strategic Priority No. 10, the security and good governance of the Overseas Territories (please see Press Release PN 31 (06-07), dated 5 July 2007 for the terms of reference). In this evidence session the Committee will hear the view of territory governments, on the eve of the annual Overseas Territories Consultative Council at the FCO.

4.00 pm:

The Hon. Ralph O’Neal, Premier, British Virgin Islands 

The Hon. Kurt Tibbetts, Leader of Government Business, Cayman Islands

4.40 pm:

Councillor Mike Summers OBE, Falkland Islands Leslie Jaques OBE, Commissioner, Pitcairn Islands

The Hon. Brian W. Isaac, Member of the Executive Council, St Helena

5.20 pm:

The Hon. Osbourne Fleming, Chief Minister, Anguilla

Dr The Hon. Lowell Lewis, Chief Minister, Montserrat                

Dr The Hon. Michael E Misick, Premier, Turks and Caicos Islands

The meeting will take place in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House.

Extension of deadline for written evidence

The Committee initially invited witnesses to submit written evidence by 15 October 2007, but has now extended this deadline until 31 January 2008


Media enquiries:

Members of the press with enquiries should contact Alex Paterson, Select Committee Media Officer, on 020 7219 1589, or  07917 488488, or by email to

Further Information:

1. The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the “administration, expenditure and policy” of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee’s website at

2. Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via St Stephen's Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Mike Gapes (Chairman), Labour, Mr Fabian Hamilton, Labour, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory, Conservative, Mr John Horam, Conservative, Mr Eric Illsley, Labour, Mr Paul Keetch, Liberal Democrats, Andrew Mackinlay, Labour, Mr Malcolm Moss, Conservative, Sandra Osborne, Labour, Mr Greg Pope, Labour, Mr Ken Purchase, Labour, Rt Hon Sir John Stanley, Conservative, Ms Gisela Stuart, Labour, Richard Younger-Ross, Liberal Democrats.

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 6394, email -

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488 488 email - 

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on